FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
ABOUT GETTING YOUR LICENSE BACK
1) How do I get my driver's license back?
If your driver's license has been suspended because of our judgment, you can get the suspension lifted by 1) negotiating a lump
sum payment of the judgment; or, 2) make arrangements to pay by monthly
2) What is the process for getting my driver's license reinstated?
If the judgment that was entered against you was signed after March
of 2001, and you want to make monthly installment payments the process
is as follows:
Step 1: Call, write, or e-mail us and discuss the payment options that
are available to you.
Step 2: Mail us a cashier's check or money orders payable to the McREYNOLDS
LAW FIRM with your account number written on it for the agreed upon
Step 3: When we receive your down payment, we will mail you an Agreement
to Pay Judgment in Installments Pursuant to Court Order (hereinafter
"Agreement") to sign and complete before a notary public and
mail it back to us (Do not fax because we need the original signatures).
Step 4: When we receive the signed, notarized and completed Agreement,
an attorney in our office will then sign the Agreement before a notary
public and mail it back to you.
Step 5: When you receive the signed Agreement, you have the documents
you need from our firm to obtain a reinstatement. You will also need
to take 1) a reinstatement fee of $100.00 payable to the "Texas
Department of Public Safety"; and, 2) Proof of financial responsibility
(e.g., an SR-22 form which get from your insurance agent). Note: You
do not need to send proof of financial responsibility to DPS if more
than 2 years has passed since the judgment was signed by the judge.
However, you will need to complete and send DPS-Form SR-87, which we
will mail to you. If you file the Agreement and $100.00 reinstatement
fee within 60 days of the date the judgment was signed, you do not need
to file proof of financial responsibility.
You must mail the necessary documents and fees to the following Austin office of DPS:
Austin: Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) office:
5805 N. Lamar Blvd.
P.O. Box 15999
Austin, TX 78761-5999
3) After I pay my down payment and sign and complete the paperwork,
how long before I get my drivers license back?
It depends. If you and I sign an Agreement (as permitted by the judgement or the court's prior order), can immediately mail it to DPS at the above address. However,
if it is necessary to get the judge's signature on an order allowing
installment payments, the process, beginning from when you returned
the signed motion to allow installment payments, takes approximately
4 weeks. (We do not control the time it takes the judge to sign and
return the order.) If you mail the Agreement or the installment
order, proof of financial responsibility (SR-22 or SR-87) and the $100.00
reinstatement fee to DPS, it may take DPS 14 to 21 days to lift the
4) Can I come to your office to expedite this process?
Except for final payoffs, the McReynolds Law Firm does not accept payments
hand delivered by you to our office or allow the pickup or signing of
documents to lift the suspension of drivers licenses in our offices.
All such transactions must be done by mail, or by professional courier/messenger.
DO NOT CALL US TO ASK IF WE RECEIVED YOUR DOWN PAYMENT OR MAILED THE
AGREEMENT. BECAUSE THESE CALLS SUCH ARE A TIME CONSUMING TASK, THE STAFF
IS INSTRUCTED NOT TO ANSWER THESE QUESTIONS. WE CANNOT BOTH ANSWER CALL
AND PROCESS YOUR PAPERWORK
5) Can I pay the down payment with a personal check?
No; Your down payment must be made by money order or cashier's check
payable to the McREYNOLDS LAW FIRM or by credit card.
6) I do not have the money to pay the down payment. Can I pay the down
Yes, but only under the following terms:
A. We will not send you the Agreement for you to sign to get your driver's
license suspension lifted until you have paid the down payment in full.
B. On each down payment installment or a separate paper, you must write
your account number and the words A PARTIAL PAYMENT. We will not accept
a phone call telling us to use it for your down payment.
C. After you have paid the full down payment, it is up to you to request
in writing that we send you the paperwork. We will not automatically
D. All payments must be by cashierπs checks or money orders payable
to McREYNOLDS LAW FIRM.
E. It is up to you to keep a record of your payments. We will not send
monthly statements of your account until after the down payment is paid
in full and you request that the paperwork be mailed to you.
7) To whom do I make my payments payable? Where do I send them?
Make your money orders or cashier's check payable to: McREYNOLDS LAW
All payments must be mailed to:
McReynolds Law Firm
1130 E. Arapaho Rd, Suite 400
Richardson, TX 75081
To make sure your payment is credited to your account, please write
your account number on your payments. We are not responsible for misapplied
payments if your account number is not written on your payment.
After you make your down payment, we accept personal checks for your
monthly payments. However, we will not accept checks if you have previously
given us a bank returned check, you are behind in your payments, or
the checks total $110.00 or more. You cannot get around this by sending
more than one check for under $110.00. Such payments will not be accepted
and will be returned.